Skip to main content

Around the World in an International Break


With the ultimate anticlimactic start to Serie A of playing one fixture and then waiting almost two weeks to see Milan play again, at least we are on the back side of the international break. Today our players play their final matches for their countries, and then come back to train for the Parma game. In case you are wondering, here are the fixtures for the matches today:

That's Captain Honda to you...


Japan vs. Venezuela • 19:20 JST (6:20am EDT)
Honda played all 90 minutes and captained Japan as they lost to Uruguay on Saturday. He should be available once again to face Venezuela under new Japan coach Javier Aguirre.

De Jong introduces himself to Zaza

Czech Republic vs. Holland • 20:45 CEST (2:45pm EDT) • Euro Qualifier
After losing to Italy 2-0 last week in a friendly, De Jong will travel with his teammates to the Czech Republic looking for a win in their Euro qualifier.

Please, Coach Evil™, just don't eat the Milan players.... please?

Norway vs. Italy • 20:45 CEST (2:45pm EDT) • Euro Qualifier
El Shaarawy seems to have recovered from his ankle injury last week, and may be available for Coach Evil™. De Sciglio and Poli are also available.

Honda hates international breaks, too.

So if you’re anything like me and feeling football withdrawals, watch at least one international match today and cheer on our Milan players. Because this weekend, Serie A is back, and a tough away game to Parma and our old friend Donadoni as well as several of our other “old friends.” It’s not the same as watching them in the red and black, but when you can go around the world in an international break like this, it’s better than no football at all.


This post inspired by the music of Ministry’s N.W.O.


Our next match is
Parma vs. Milan
Sunday, September 14 • 20:45 CEST (2:45pm EDT)